Croziers Electrical is a second generation company that has been operating since 1966. Locally owned and operated, they are situated in the centre of Gatton’s main shopping area. Established by Noel Crozier as an electrical contracting business and later adding a retail lighting store. The business is now owned by Noel’s son Michael.
Power first arrived in the Lockyer Valley area in 1931. The electricity company was then known as Ipswich Electric Supply Co. which later became City Electrical Lighting (C.E.L.), then S.E.A., followed by SEQEB and now Energex. The Gatton depot was in William Street and was underneath the residence of Tom Crozier (Noel’s Father). Stores and trucks were accommodated in the back yard. When this became too congested a new depot was build adjacent to the Gatton Sub Station, which is presently where the Lockyer Valley Early Education Centre is today. From here it was moved to Woodlands Road. Tom Crozier was the foreman when power was brought from Ipswich to Laidley and Gatton.
Tom’s son Noel followed in his footsteps starting a career in the electrical industry. Noel was an apprentice electrical fitter mechanic to ET McDermont who employed him for seven years. He worked for Kennetts Electrical for a further eleven years before starting Croziers Electrical in 1966. Michael Crozier completed his apprenticeship with his father, making him a third generation electrician. To compliment the electrical contracting business, Noel’s wife Gwen opened the lighting store in 1984.
Today Michael Crozier employs electrical apprentice Joe Hallas and Chantal Drews who manages the store. Throughout the years there has been many changes in the industry however the key is experience and knowledge. All aspects of electrical contracting are provided and the lighting store offers all ranges of lighting from inside to out.